The 2022-23 Dale Frandsen Award Presented to Lynn Spence

Story and Photo by Ed Kolybaba on Jun 20, 2023

The 2022-23 Dale Frandsen Award, a "Dedication to Friendship" award which is presented annually to a Rotarian who exemplifies the spirit of dedication, friendship, optimism, and integrity, the core values of a true Rotarian, was presented to Lynn Spence during the club's Installation Dinner on June 15, 2023.

In making the presentation to Lynn, 2022-23 President Randall Bamford outlined the outstanding and crucial leadership role she provided first as a Club Service Director and then as the club's Membership Director, switching roles when the club desperately needed someone to assume the responsibilities associated with membership.



Lynn Spence joined the club in 2021 after serving as a Rotarian with a Surrey Rotary club for nearly thirteen years. President Bamford expressed that "she had a great Rotary resume and attitude so I was thrilled to have her join the 2022-2023 Board team in the role of Club Service director. She quickly got her committees together to support the youth exchange program, Interact, fellowship, administrative meeting functions and the program with its guest speakers."

President Bamford added that "She provided great support in all those areas and it is a good thing too because when we needed a Membership Director just a few months into the year, Lynn volunteered to switch roles and for some time acted as both."

President Bamford's goals for his year were to bring the fun back into Rotary after some challenging COVID years, to engage Rotarians, grow membership and have more fellowship events. He found himself stressed out just wondering how this was all going to come about without getting a growing list of new members inducted. "Well, Lynn came through and she inducted eight members this Rotary year," he acknowledged in relief.

"Lynn really wants the best for all of us and her friendly, positive attitude and dedication to Rotary Values really makes her right for this award," expressed the club's 2022-23 out-going president.